Clubhouse removed personal information from Afghan users' accounts as a security measure techydeed.com
The Clubhouse has taken some information from Afghan users as a precaution. Clubhouse

The platform aims to protect users’ privacy and security.

Clubhouse, a social audio app, has joined other social networks in protecting the privacy and security of Afghan users. The platform reset the bios and photos of tens to thousands of Afghan users earlier this week and made it more difficult for search engines to find their accounts. Clubhouse spokesperson said that the actions did not affect users’ followers and that all changes can be reversed if desired.

Clubhouse reminds its Afghan customers that pseudonyms are allowed for safety and human rights reasons. According to the spokesperson, Clubhouse consulted experts in violent extremism and free expression to develop its approach.

As the Taliban have regained control of the country, many people in Afghanistan have tried to delete photos from their social media accounts and phones that could show a connection to the West or the former Afghan government.

Despite bans on several social platforms, the Taliban was able to push their messaging on social media. The Washington Post said that they have become sophisticated at social media tactics to change their image.

On Thursday, Facebook said it had added security measures for users in Afghanistan, including hiding “friends” lists and adding a tool to lock down accounts quickly.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here